COUNTRIES ARE BECOMING MORE AND MORE SIMILAR BECAUSE PEOPLE ARE ABLE TO BUY THE SAME PRODUCTS ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD. DO YOU THINK IS A POSITIVE OR NEGETIVE DEVELOPMENT?

It is undeniable that growing consumerism has become a trend worldwide after the industrialization age. Because of the development of transportation, products from different world regions can be sent to another within days or weeks. While some people think that this might affect the uniqueness of countries, I suppose that this is a positive development which could promote the equity of accessibility to, primarily, medication and food. On the one hand, the ability of people to buy the same things, especially clothes, wherever they are can make people look more alike. However, they cannot be that similar in terms of culture and ways of life. For example, Thai people used to wear traditional Thai wear on a daily basis, a hundred years ago. With the coming of Western fashion from globalization, Thai citizens nowadays have changed the way we dress to be more convenient and comfortable with T-shirts and jeans. Indeed, this change does not make Thailand similar to the West because they still have unique cultures and norms. On the other hand, the convenience of purchasing could be beneficial for many industries, including food and healthcare. Whether many developed countries have faced obesity issues due to the excessive amount of food supplies, there are many underdeveloped countries where children do not have enough nutritious food. These problems are now decreasing with the rise of the advancement of food supply chains around the globe. Moreover, this development can help to prevent many communicable diseases if vaccines are available in every country, no matter how far they are. In conclusion, the increase in the availability of products is a positive development because it helps tackle gaps in access to food and healthcare globally.