Deforestation is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes and effects of deforestation?

One of the most important problems with which the world struggles is deforestation. Urban planning and using of trees in industries are the main reasons for logging. It has detrimental impacts, such as air pollution and the extinction of some species, which will be discussed in this essay. In terms of the causes of deforestation, building new cities is one of the main reasons. An increasing number of people in the world require areas for living. Therefore, governments cut down forests, and in these areas, they construct towns. Another key factor of deforestation is using trees as a row material. To be more specific, from furniture to paper, trees are used for various purposes in factories. These items need a large amount of wood. So, trees are felled. Research shows that every year millions of square kilometres of forests are cut due to building cities or industrial purposes. There are serious effects of deforestation on the environment. The first of them is that the lack of trees leads to pollution of the air. In other words, trees absorb carbon dioxide from the air and evaporate oxygen into the atmosphere. Few trees mean that the level of carbon dioxide emitted from factories and transportation increases, and as a result, the weather is being polluted. Another impact of logging is it can cause the extinction of rare kinds of trees or can ruin the habitats of animals. For instance, if a forest which is the home of some animals is felled, these species will suffer from finding new areas to live. In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned points into account, construction of cities, and the usage of wood as a raw material bring about deforestation, and it leads to the lack of fresh air, and the extinction of some species.