In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The shrinking population in the countryside due to urbanization, a phenomenon of rural dwellers who move to cities, occurs in many countries around the world. In my view, this trend should be perceived as negative for two main reasons. The first reason is that urbanization leads to an increase in poverty. Although it could be argued that job vacancies could be easier to find in a city, sometimes people from rural areas who move to cities do not have adequate skills or hold proper academic certificates to secure jobs. As a result, they work on any jobs to fulfil their daily needs. Unfortunately, the jobs are usually low-paid, and it is hard for them to make ends meet. Because of low-income that they have, it is becoming difficult for them to afford adequate housing in cities. A by-product of this is the creation of slums. These people become trapped in a cycle of poverty that is difficult to escape. The second reason why urbanization is a negative trend is because it can hamper the development of the countryside. To illustrate, people who do urbanization are commonly the young generation. The village will lose productive human resources if many of them move to cities. Consequently, potential land in the countryside is neglected, whereas the land can be a source of livelihood. The elderly people may be able to manage the land, but their ideas are usually less innovative. To sum up, this essay examined the drawbacks associated with urbanization, which are the increase in poverty rates and the impeded of countryside development. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that the growth of urbanization can only be seen as a negative influence on society.