In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In certain countries, there is a growing number of people getting interested in exploring the history behind the place they live in. This essay will discuss the reasons why the trend is formed, and offer several approaches to get involved in the research. The main reason about the increasing popularity in historical research in buildings stems from the atmosphere of nostalgia. Some people prefer to trace back the origin of their birthplaces and identities to understand themselves better. It seems to be a type of movement against the hectic pace in the development of technology. Searching for the story of where people live in reminds them of those good old days. Another reason lies in its potential value. With vintage vibe become prevelant in some cultures, the coffee shops decorated in old-school style or the airbnb rooms promoted its highlight on the historical environment add up addtional value for the consumers or vistors to purchase the product and service there. In this case, it is therefore essential to realize the local history and the background of the place, where they could tell a story about the place as a marketing stratgy to stand out among competitors. As for the ways to unveil hidden stories behind the house we live in, reading the local cultural magazine and using search engine to find related news are great ways to begin with. Besides, executing a field interview also serves as a a method to have a deep dive into the history. In conclusion, this essay not only explored the reasons that contribute to the popular trend, but also provided some ways to go on a treasure hunt in the history of building we live in.