People who cause their own illnesses through unhealthy lifestyles and poor diets should have to pay more for health care. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

These days, most people are not taking care of their own health, such as by eating poorly or living harmful lifestyles. Some people think that the government should require such people to pay more for their own health care. I personally and completely disagree with this perspective. On the one hand, poor health habits are the primary cause of a variety of illnesses, and they are extremely harmful to the human body, including the brain, heart, skin, etc. For example, statistics show that there is a huge difference between people who eat breakfast and those who do not, because the human body needs energy for the whole day. Thus, breakfast helps the brain by supplying it with energy. As a consequence, mornings have many benefits for people ’s health. Secondly, adequate sleep plays a vital role in health and well-being, and it is essential for both mental and physical health. Lack of sleep is also a part of an unhealthy lifestyle. For instance, professors and doctors have said that if a person does not sleep well—less than 7–8 hours—the brain erases some memories on its own and cannot remember information well. In addition, an inactive brain does not accept new information effectively. However, although health care is important for people, some people do not agree with this view. Firstly, the penalty for poor health habits is not affordable for some people because of poverty. This is because maintaining good health requires many things, such as quality food, expensive creams, and others. To illustrate, if there is a female in any household, expensive make-up products and skin- care creams are needed for her, and thus, it is a huge financial burden. Nevertheless, if they do not care for their health, they may be required to pay more. Therefore, the government should free them from excessive financial demands, even if their lifestyle is harmful to their health. In summary, there are many possible benefits of paying fines for poor health, but I completely disagree with this statement because of the financial problems that many people face.