More and more prisons are being built to house the world's criminals, and many people believe long-term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem. However, others feel that psychological assistance is what is required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

To cage an individual after he has been found guilty of his acts is the universal punishment inflicted by law. While some think that these criminals should go through long periods of imprisonment, others opine that offenders should be counselled by experts to transform them into good human beings. This essay will examine both ends before presenting my view. On the one hand, no crime should be taken lightly. Commitment of any criminal activity should be strictly looked into and the criminal should be punished for a longer duration. This is to make him realise the consequences of his unaccepted acts in society. More time spent in prison would deter him from doing such acts again. A prisoner is considered a taboo in our society and thus this tag when carried for a lengthy span of time, even spoils the reputation of his family members. This insult embarrasses him and eventually, the prolonged time spent in jail would help in bringing a change in his personality. A recent study conducted by London Law University revealed that 10% of criminals, when incarcerated in miserable conditions inside the prisons, make them understand the pursuit of such evil offences and they tend to change their mindset. On the other hand, no punishment can change the innate criminal nature of a person. Once a criminal, always a criminal. Thus, this wrong habit should be refrained through psychological workshops. It is commonly believed that psychology plays a vital role in changing the thought process of an individual. Therefore, experts in this field should step forward and help society by training the criminal mind. This effort goes a long way and serves the best purpose. Nowadays, the increased number of juvenile crimes is evidence of a lack of support and counselling for young brains. If such moldable teens are encouraged to be educated and made aware of the impact of heinous crimes, they will avoid doing it. In conclusion, I agree that no offence should be left unattended and bear a strict penalty, however, keeping a person behind bars, even for a longer time would not yield positive results. Regular advice and counselling sessions along with short-term imprisonment, perhaps could mould the minds of criminals and help them in becoming good citizens.