Overpopulation is becoming a serious issue in many parts of the world. Some people believe that governments should take strict measures to control population growth, while others think it is up to individuals to decide how many children they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether governments should get involved regarding the rapid growth of the population in the last few decades. In my point of view, some community-control measures should absolutely be implemented by governments in order to achieve population stabilization, or we will face some acute problems in the near future. There are some reasons why it could be argued that childbreading is a personal choice. The chief reason behind this attitude is the fact that it is actually the basic part of civil liberty. This means that deciding to give birth to a child, in the first place, is a human right which should not be taken from individuals. Another major belief which can be considered as one of the significant causes of today’s fast-growing population is the improvements in public health, good food production, disease prevention, etc. People strongly believe due to the mentioned enhancement in overall the public situation, our planet is ready for this population boom. However, I strongly disagree with those who are of the belief that the number of children is a personal decision. Human overpopulation is now among the most pressing environmental issues, silently aggravating the force behind global warming, environmental pollution, habitat loss and the consumption of finite natural resources, such as fresh waters and fossil fuels at speeds faster than their rate of regeneration. To tackle these problems, authorities should adopt policies and encourage mothers to limit their childbreading so that they can achieve population balance. In conclusion, while there are some reasons to support the right of individuals to decide how many children they want to have, my own view is that states must take action to impede the immense consequences overpopulation may cause.