Even though some cities have extensive public transportation system, many people still drive cars. why do you think this happens? how can people be encouraged to use more public transportation?

It is true that some people still tend to drive vehicles in certain cities which have advanced public transportation system. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. An array of factors may lead to why individuals prefer to drive cars rather than take public transportation. To begin with, driving vehicles is more efficient and effactive than take a bus or subway to reach their destinations, they do not need to spend time waiting for these transport systems. Take myself as an example. I am living in Taipei with complete public transportation, I have multiple choices to commute but I still drive to my company since I do not want to waste time to wait the bus which spend twice times minutes for community. Moreover, compares to train or bus, private cars are more clean and comfortable generally, most of citizens tend to have a private and fresh space, own vehicles have been becoming their priorities. That is, people who care about the quality of ride experience would not choose to take public transportation. Several solutions of individuals dirve private cars rather than take public transport can also be taken to solve this issue. First of all, authorities should increase the frequency of bus, train, subway and so on. To establish a more effactive transport system, reducing the time of people waiting, than they will be willing to take advantage of public transportation. To be more specific, if the time-wasting problem be tackled, more citizens will take public transport to commute and travel. Secondly, governments can invest a lot of funding on maintaining each cars sanitation, such as air-conditioning and cleanse more regularly. For instance, Taiwanese prefer high speed rail rather than train in the same distence, even though the former's price is higher than the latter, because high speed rail build a comfortable environment to customers. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, a series of causes may result in people still drive private vehicles in some cities have extensive public transportation system and the related solusions can be adopted to deal with this problem.