Effect of Social Media on Youth • "Some people believe that social media has a negative impact on young people, while others argue that it has positive effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

It is often argued that social media is causing problems for younger generations, while others claim that it is a useful tool for communication. Although social outlets can teach us about the world, the vast majority view social media actively, making people less intelligent, and for this reason, I agree with the first view. Travel logs can provide knowledge and a greater understanding of various topics, such as nature, history and traditions. This allows viewers to experience art disciplines outside the classroom, which is often more enthralling than a lecture or lesson from a teacher. For example, through YouTube viewers can learn all sorts of new facts about antient civilization that they might not have watched previously. However, travel logs only represent a tiny fraction of what people actually watch on social media, and I believe that they are not representative of most social media niches. The fact remains that the most common use of social media is for popular types of videos like comedy skits, memes and roasting that do not teach people anything. This is to say, the videos that most viewers watch appeal to those who want to be entertained without thinking or learning. Moreover, a lot of money is invested in making these videos addictive, meaning people end up watching more social media content than they intend to without learning anything. For instance, TikTok algorithms are dedicated to purely entertaining, non-educational programming because Owners know that this kind of content will result in the highest ratings. I, therefore, agree that, for most people, the main function of social media is for entertainment. In conclusion, despite a few travel logs and science videos providing a good source of knowledge, the overwhelming majority of people watch social media for pleasure, not to learn, and I believe that is its primary use.