Some people believe that the internet is increasing the gap between the rich and poor, while others argue that it helps to reduce this gap. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The internet is changing our world at a dramatic pace. Yet, it is not clear who benefits the most. Does the internet help the rich to become richer, or does it actually help the poor close the gap? I believe that the internet presents a unique opportunity to make our world more equal. Those who argue that the internet mainly helps the rich have a point. Firstly, only people who have access to it can benefit from it. Although internet access is becoming more common, many people with low income still have no stable broadband at home and are less likely to gain from this technology. As for the business world, the internet clearly accelerates the growth of successful companies, such as Amazon and Facebook, which cannibalise small businesses. In this way, it rewards the owners of large corporations, mainly based in developed countries, and hurts smaller local businesses and people working for them. Although the rich can clearly use the internet to their advantage, I still believe that it is the poor who benefit the most. In the past, one’s location determined to a large extent their access to education and well-paid jobs but today, this is less true. Distance learning allows people to gain knowledge and skills that are not available in their area. Then, they can use these skills to work remotely for companies based in richer parts of the world and earn higher salaries. As a result, more people get access to opportunities that used to be available only to the wealthy few. This is why I think that the internet actually helps to make income distribution more equal. In conclusion, the internet opens far wider access to opportunities for both individuals and businesses. This is why, in my opinion, this technology has great potential to narrow the gap between the rich and poor.