Why are mental health issues becoming more prevalent and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

The topic of mental health issues has sparked debate in modern times, since their prevalence is rising at an alarming rate among individuals of all ages. Psychological distress stems from numerous reasons, which are detailed below, along with some measures to mitigate it. Firstly, an unbalanced work routine is one of the primary causes of psychological issues, such as stress. For instance, a psychologist recently published an article which said that 85% of adults are diagnosed with chronic stress and mental strain due to excessive work. Moreover, to resolve this problem, governments should enforce strict rules and regulations, which apply sanctions to the companies that allow employees not to work more than 8 hours a day. This approach will surely have a long-lasting effect, thus leading to a decrement in the levels of stress. Additionally, another potential aetiology is the overuse of smartphones or electronic devices, especially by teenagers. For example, a cross-sectional study was carried out among university students. The results showed a prolific increase in the prevalence of depression resulting from the overconsumption of social media, hence supporting the aforementioned viewpoint. Furthermore, one of the important preventive strategies to overcome this challenge includes raising awareness regarding the correct usage of social networking sites among the public through campaigns and even individual counselling, which will positively influence people; therefore, gradually decreasing the prevalence of mental health problems. To recapitulate, demanding job schedules and spending too much time on social media are the dominant causes of deteriorating mental well-being. However, these concerns can be addressed by the implementation of policies protecting the rights of labour and certain public health initiatives.