Many people believe that learning a language at childhood is much easier than at adulthood.What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning it at adulthood?

A lot of individuals argue that studying different languages in their childhood is more common and faster than in adulthood. The essay will discuss firstly, the advantages and then the disadvantages of educating it at the age of adolescence. To begin with, adults possess extensive life skills and accumulated knowledge in various fields, which allows them to associate new words and expressions with familiar situations, concepts and contexts. As a result, the process of learning vocabulary becomes more meaningful, deeper and more effective. For example, for a McDonald's employee like Mr. Jacob, it would be easier to remember words such as "order," "drinks," "receipt," "change," and so on. Moreover, he doesn’t even need to memorize them — instead, he immediately connects the new terms with specific knowledge and real-life experiences. On the other hand, at the initial stages of language learning, adults often experience a lack of confidence, fearing they might make mistakes or appear awkward in front of others. That is to say, such psychological barriers can significantly slow down the development of speaking skills. For instance, an interview with psychologist Mrs Ayla revealed that 37% of people in Russia practice fear and shyness when speaking in a foreign language due to the fear of making mistakes. In conclusion, while adults can use their life experiences in the right way to enhance language learning, they may face challenges like a lack of confidence and fear of making mistakes. Both the benefits and drawbacks should be taken into account when deciding the best time to learn a language.