In recent time, many people are making the decision to live alone what are the causes of this? Does it have positive or negative effect on society?

Recently, many young adults have decided to reside by themselves rather than share a place with someone else, which results in a heated conversation about its impact on the community. Personally, the main driving factor behind this social phenomenon is the prevalence of individualist culture, which exerts some undesirable consequences to our society. To begin with, the core factor of this issue is the influence of individualism among young individuals. It is widely acknowledged that family structure has changed dramatically in the 21st century and a growing population of young people these days were born as the only child of the family. According to a survey in China, this has become a main cause of individualism, as a majority of Chinese in their 20s have been spoiled by their parents with unconditional love and attention throughout their growing up. Consequently, due to the lack of experience in sharing with others, this group of young adults tends to prioritise their own benefits over others. Hence, it is obvious why most of them opt for a single living lifestyle regardless of the soaring housing prices. Nevertheless, this means of living has some detrimental effects, both individually and collectively. Starting with the collective perspective, living independently means that more apartment units need to be constructed to fulfil the housing demands. More farmlands will be taken over by housing projects and more materials will be used in the building process, all of which jeopardises our current environment. In addition to this, the growing demand in housing inevitably increases housing prices, which ultimately exerts a negative impact on individuals. When renting or owning a property becomes less affordable, the lives of young adults will definetly be more challenging. Conclusively, it is clear that the bachelor living lifestyle is significantly influenced by the dominant norms of individualism, which has some problematic impacts on our community in the long term. Therefore, such an approach to living is not feasible both sustainably and economically, and it should not be advocated.