In many countries, crime rates among young people have been rising. Why do you think this is happening? What can be done to address this issue?"

It is true that nowadays the rates of crimes are increasing rapidly, especially among the young generation. There could be various reasons why this is the case, and I believe authorities should take serious steps to alleviate the situation in any way possible. There are various reasons why individuals are inclined to commit crimes. Poverty is considered to be the chief reason which contributes to robbery because people find it easier or quicker to steal than to go through the process of getting and keeping a job. Another main cause of today’s horrible and unsafe society can be considered the family background of each resident. Children exposed to violence in their homes may grow up with subconscious thoughts that compel them to impulsive reactions when angry from which violent crimes such as murder, rape and assault may result. In my view, to tackle the above-mentioned problems and make society a safe and peaceful atmosphere for the next generation to foster, governments should introduce adequate punishment for each crime. Punishment is good for two reasons: it shows the offenders that they can not simply get away with doing the wrong things, and as a form of prevention. The fear of punishment is often the head reason for law-abiding citizens not to slip to the other side of the track. Additionally, rehabilitation can be another major solution as it aims to make criminals better citizens. In conclusion, I believe governments should take a part of the blame for the high crime rate and to control the present situation they must bring in penalties to deter inhabitants from breaking the laws.