Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, there has been a pressing issue related to whether education is a more sustainable and long-term solution for crime prevention over the major method of punishment in most regions - imprisonment. Personally, I totally agree with this statement for some reasons mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, even though imprisonment is the most prevalent way to keep dangerous individuals away from society, in the long term, this method brings several disadvantages and can not resolve the root cause of the problem. First of all, a lot of money and effort from the nation have been put into prison, which creates a financial burden on the government and increases taxes on residents as a result. To illustrate, besides the budget to erect new prisons, there are other expenses that the authorities have to cover such as food and living or the salary of people managing and operating jails. Secondly, there are many prisoners who re-offend after being released. This is because prison is a violent environment and is surrounded by negative individuals, which makes inmates become more dangerous after being captured. On the other hand, investing in education may create significant benefits in the long run. Firstly, equipping criminals with knowledge and ethical values can help them to make better life choices after reintegrating into the community. The main reason for this is that a lot of prisoners have disadvantageous backgrounds and lack education, so by providing them with vocational skills, they will be able to get hired easily. In addition, it is essential to involve soft skills such as empathy or critical thinking in the curriculum of younger generations. This may help them to have a proper life perspective and discourage them from engaging in criminal activities. In conclusion, I totally believe that improving education plays a crucial role in tackling the crime issue. In my point of view, local authorities should organize more rehabilitation programs and vocational training that help criminals reintegrate into society and prevent them from committing crimes again.