You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Paralleled with the development of the Internet, online shopping has become increasingly popular nowadays. Some people claim that shopping on the Internet has various disadvantages. From my perspective, however, the benefits of online shopping far outweigh its drawbacks. One primary reason is the return policy. Various companies provide a return policy for products sold on the Internet. All of these products can be returned without any additional charge. Therefore, customers have the opportunity to give it a try of these products before they eventually decide to buy them. Take Apple as an example, there is a seven-day return policy. If people buy an Apple device via online shopping, no matter why they do not want to buy these electronic devices, they can return the product in this period. However, products purchased in the Apple store do not abide by this policy, which means customers do not have the right to return the products. Opponents of online shopping usually state that individual information might be leaked when people shop on the internet. Nevertheless, the security of the Internet has improved rapidly during the past decades. Moreover, online shopping might take customers ' information more seriously than offline shopping. For instance, when a customer uses a credit card to pay, not only do the selling companies verify the credit card belongs to the person, but the credit card companies also verify the payment was made by the credit card owner. Thus, there is a two-way verification during this purchase process. By way of conclusion, I firmly believe that the merits of online shopping far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only can it guarantee a return policy for customers, but it also provides safer channels for payment.