In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Big businesses nowadays use methods of advertising to convince consumers that their product is better and new than the rest of the others. This is actually a technique commonly used today. I firmly believe that, it's a positive development due to some particular reasons that we will discuss in this essay. Advertising has become the essence of introducing novelty to the customers. The reason to show newness in the product is to hide a big truth behind this notion. People have myriad options, when buying even a small product. For example, in the past people had very limited variety to choose from. i.e. selecting a dress for some event. But now, there are thousands of brands, each claiming to have better designs and new dresses. Additionally, another reason is the mindset of humans. It can be clearly observed, that as compared to our ancestors, our generations are now more conscious about changing and buying new things every day. They have less contentment in their lives and thus, in order to satisfy their inner-self, they want progressiveness. So, to grab the attention of their clients, sellers prefer to show some advancement in their products. Folks often get bored easily and feel the need for adventure and this is actually the technique business tycoons are using to boost their sales. Some people on the other side opine, that it is a negative development. It is a bitter reality because due to this development, specially youngsters spend a lot of money to buy and experience new things they see in advertisements. Thus, putting a lot of financial burden on parents. Keeping all these reasons in mind I am still biased towards the idea that it is a good practice to exhibit new features through ads. It has become the source for livelihood for several people.