Everyone should adopt a vegetarian diet because eating meat can cause serious health problems. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, many people debate vegetarian and non-vegetarian food in relation to health. Some people have a strong opinion that meat is the cause of many medical complications, thus deteriorating public health. Therefore, vegetarian diets should be preferred due to their benefits on one’s overall well-being. In my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement, as I firmly believe that a diet including the two should be chosen to ensure adequate nutrition. Firstly, vegan diets are rich sources of nutrients such as carbohydrates, vitamins, and minerals, but lack essential amino acids and fats imperative for bone building and muscle function. For instance, it was cited in an article that, in order to avoid deficiency disorders, particularly iron-deficiency anaemia and pregnancy complications, eating meat is highly important. Furthermore, choosing lean meat in lieu of red meat is essential to prevent diseases, namely type 2 diabetes and hypertension. On the contrary, vegetarian diets offer many advantages. To begin with, as previously mentioned, they contain an array of micronutrients—compounds required in smaller amounts by our bodies for proper metabolism and growth. For example, a comparative analysis between two sample groups revealed that individuals who routinely consume vegetables and fruits are less susceptible to micronutrient deficiencies compared to those with inadequate intake. Conclusively, I’m inclined to believe that, nevertheless, both vegetables and meat are salient for physiological and psychological development. However, consuming meat excessively can lead to health problems such as obesity and hypercholesterolemia, hence balanced consumption is fundamental to ensuring healthy living.