In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageijg population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people To what extent do the advantages of having an ageijg population outweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays it is thought that people have longer life spans than they used to before. A lot argue that an older generation can be a burden to some societies, however, some believe that having older people could account for some benefits. I, to some extent agree that older people can bring in more advantages than disadvantages as I shall further discuss my perspective in this essay. Firstly, it is well known that older people always have a ton of wisdom and knowledge and they always find the correct ways to use and spread it. This can help the younger generation to make the most out of the obtained information and make use of it today. Also, having to say your kids met their great-grandparents, isn't that an amazing feeling? It is stated that when children are more exposed to their extended family, they easily grow the sense of family orientation and they tend to understand the importance of family. In contrast, having an ageing population could mean a lot of hospitalizations. Old people tend to easily get sick and almost all chronic diseases's main risk factor is old age. From a government's point of view, this means bettering healthcare facilities which can be rather expensive. Besides, it is thought that when older people get sick, the disease does not only affect their general well-being but also their mental state. Statistics illustrate that 60% of hospitalized patients over the age of 70 are also depressed.  In conclusion, both arguments state strong points, however, from my standpoint, I believe that the idea of younger children having a connection with their grandparents and even great-grandparents who are also teaching them wisdom and knowledge shall outweigh any financial or economic benefit.