In many countries, more and more people are moving from rural areas to cities in search of a better life. However, urbanization can lead to various problems in cities. What are the main problems caused by urbanization? How can these problems be solved?

Nowadays due to technological advances and higher occupational opportunities, more people are motivated to migrate to metropolitan cities. Although it can lead to a greater quality of life for many, it also has its challenges. In this essay, some problems alongside some solutions to this matter will be discussed. Urbanization is inevitable due to the increase in population and the facilities the megacities offer. However, we should be careful since urbanization brings with it several challenges. The constantly increasing population leads to pressing problems such as insufficient water availability, being vulnerable to violent crime, traffic congestion, shortage of off-street parking, expensive housing, and high cost of living. The above-mentioned issues can be reduced by using several strategies. First, government should take measures to raise the rural incomes and reduce the rural to urban gap. Authorities can also slow down the immigration flew by improving the infrastructure and consequently living conditions of suburbs. By, for example, establishing new branches of factories in these areas which means a higher rate of job opportunities. Encouraging experts to move to the countryside can also be considered as another approach. This means that if for example parents are assured that there are adept educators in rural areas to teach their children, they will be more inclined to move to these districts. In conclusion, although urbanization can improve one’s life condition, this rapid rise in the urban population has caused challenges which can be considered drawbacks of a metropolis. The state can take some measures to alleviate these problems.