Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views with regard to the question of whether physical or mental strength is crucial to succeed in sports. In my point of view, both aspects are crucial but their roles vary depending on which type of sports are selected. Some people argue that physical power is the key to the accomplishment of almost every sport. First of all, it is believed that bodily strength is the fundamental requirement of endurance and athletic sports such as weight-lifting and running. Without harsh physical training and suitable nutrition intake to build muscle, it is impossible for athletes to beat other contestants and get the victory. Secondly, maintaining a strong body helps athletes and sports players avoid common injuries in certain sports. In soccer, for example, because of the long endurance of a match and on-field collisions, poorly physical players can easily suffer from damage to their bodies and the best protection for this is to attain great resistance capability. Despite the above arguments, others think that mental strength plays a greater part in sports achievement. This, on the one hand, is obvious with chess and other mind sports, along with physical sports that require high concentration. Indeed, on the subject of archery and shooting competitions, athletes can lose merely because of a moment of distraction. On the other hand, in terms of physically competitive sports, mental strength is the major factor in the decision of the winner. It is hard for worldwide tennis spectators to forget the comeback victory of Novak Djokovic in the final of the 2012 French Open championship thanks to his conscious mind and better strategy, despite his physical disadvantages compared to his competitor, Rafael Nadal. In conclusion, in my opinion, while the physical aspect is more important with sports that prioritize strength and movements, their mental counterpart matters more to mind sports. Both of these two elements are inevitable in every kind of sport and they can complement each other.