Some people believe that watching television is beneficial for learning and relaxation, while others think it has a negative impact on society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some are of the belief that the positives of watching television as a means of learning and resting highly outweigh the drawbacks it may bring with itself. Although I agree television can be useful in many ways, I believe we should be careful about how much we spend time on it as we can easily get addicted to it. We can benefit a lot from TV programs and channels. For example, viewers have access to a huge variety of entertainment channels for free. TV brings the best comedians, musicians and actors into our homes which is many people’s favorite way to wind down after a hard day at work. Moreover, TV sets can be a useful source of information. In other words, people can be informed of all happenings and developments in the country in economic, industrial and political fields. On the other hand, while having a television at home seems to be a great advantage, the disadvantages are also threatening which are prominent when there is excessive use of screen. The most vulnerable group to be affected by TV is children. Students mainly spend their leisure time in front of the screen after coming back from school which would disturb their sleep cycle, routine, and severely effects their school activities. Another deleterious impact of television which targets adults is consumerism. To explain it in detail, advertisements telecast between programs attract individuals to change their brands, increase their needs and yearn for stuff shown on television. In conclusion, however, we can benefit a lot from free educational and fun programs that TV offers, we should be so careful how much time we spend in front of the television during the day since it can be destructive for both our physical and mental health.