Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is sometimes asserted that a country might economically benefit from its citizens working longer hours, however there are far-reaching repercussions at the societal level. I completely agree with this assertion as increased time commitment can result in elevated national gross product as well as certain social problems. To begin with, the rationale for my approval of the idea that a country’s economy is more robust if people spend longer hours at work is the increase in its gross product. As people devote a significant part of their days to fulfilling work responsibilities, they can produce a greater amount of output, which collectively contributes to a growth in their countries’ wealth. An illustrative example is Japan where average employees work at least 50 hours a week, a figure far higher than most other countries. This disparity has reportedly contributed to the exceptionally high GDPs that have registered the country as one of the most powerful economies over the last decades. In addition, I also support the argument that countries are faced with several issues resulting from prolonged working time. Chief of these is decreasing public health as working extra hours generally leads people to burnout while leaving them mostly no room for physical exercise. If this condition lingers on, they might experience health problems such as obesity, which places a burden on national healthcare. Furthermore, overly-occupied people might suffer from loneliness caused by the shortage of time for quality social interactions. Many professionals in China, for instance, are deficient in casual outings as they are required to work about 12 hours every day, severely affecting their social relationships. In conclusion, I am in complete agreement with the idea that longer commitment at work is beneficial to a country’s economic output, but also causes social issues including health problems and a sense of solitude. That is why countries should rather invest in technical initiatives to enhance productivity and allow their citizens to strike a balance between personal and professional lives.