Nowadays many jobs are more stressful and the working day is longer. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees?

There is no doubt that these days many jobs are more stressful, and people work longer hours. The question is: why is this happening, and what can employers do to help? In this essay, I will explain the reasons and give some solutions. In terms of the causes, the main reason given to support this claim is that there is high competition in many workplaces. Companies want employees to do more in less time, which increases pressure. To illustrate, one worker may be asked to do the job of two or three people. In other words, this leads to long working hours and more stress. As a result, workers may feel exhausted and unhappy with their work -life balance. Moreover, technology is another reason for this problem. Firstly, people can receive work emails and messages anytime, even at night or on weekends. In other words, work is always with them. Secondly, job insecurity makes employees afraid of losing their jobs. This is because they want to show they are valuable, so they work harder and for longer hours. Also, some companies reduce staff, so each person has to do more tasks than before. In conclusion, although technology and competition help businesses grow, they also increase job stress. Therefore, I believe that employers should support workers by offering flexible hours and mental health services. In conclusion, it is evident that companies must ensure steps are taken to prevent this problem from getting worse.