19. Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if they can. Do you agree or disagree?

Few inhabitants consider it a great idea for elderly individuals to continue working if it is easy for them to do so. I agree with this notion and will discuss my views in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with the view of agreement, firstly, self-dependency. To elaborate this, in the later years of life, people often become entirely dependent on their offspring for various needs such as medications and clothing. However, if individuals of that age prefer to work, they can avoid relying on their children. For example, a 2021 survey conducted by the World Health Organization (WHO) revealed that 40% of elderly individuals visiting government hospitals were paying their bills independently just because of the jobs they had in their later age. As a result, if older people work at this age, they can enjoy independence for an extended duration. Furthermore, another point of agreement is providing help to their younger colleagues. In other words, older individuals possess significant experience in the work field as well as in life, which can benefit other members in the workplace and result in increased productivity. For instance, an article published in the famous newspaper Cable News Network in 2021 showed that during the COVID-19 pandemic, the annual turnover of multinational companies in India increased because their younger employees were able to acquire knowledge from older employees via video conferencing while working from home. Therefore, older people could contribute their experience wisely to their junior co-workers. In conclusion, if older people decide to work in their later years, they not only get independence but also can share their knowledge and experience with others.