In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

The growing number of people interested in tracing the past of their house is conspicuous in some countries. Curiosity about finding a sense of belonging and ensuring the safety of their living place seems to be the main reasons for this trend, which can be investigated through their neighbours and official records. The first reason for pursuing knowledge about the house ’s history is the curiosity to connect with its past and previous residents, satisfying the desire to understand the place they live in. For example, it may be important for a family who wants to raise their children in an environment that used to be a home for another family, offering them peace of mind and making them attached to their home. Another factor is to be assured about the safety of the house, knowing about construction material would reveal the defects of the building. This data can be a guide for inhabitants in strengthening the building for potential natural occurrences that can threaten them. For researching the history of a building, neighbours and official documents are the best way to find the information. Socializing with neighbours and the local community who lived in the neighbourhood for a while could be useful. Senior residents of the neighborhood are valuable sources of information and communicating with them can offer numerous details about the house. However, due to their limited knowledge of the structure and construction materials, investigating official records through library databases and national archives is another solution. For example, finding documents such as building permits and details about construction materials could bring up information for the researcher. In conclusion, many people are keen on finding out about the history of their house. While they want to satisfy their curiosity and seek a sense of belonging, they want to be assured about the safety of the place. To find this information, besides communicating with neighbors they need to investigate official documents too.