Living in a country when you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious serius social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extents do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Foreigners often face difficulties when trying to have a conversation with local people. In this regard, it is argued that accommodating a foreign nation without knowing the local accent can lead to both social and practical problems. This essay agrees with the given statement, because being a non-native speaker it is very difficult to survive in an overseas country. To begin with, immigrants often complain about language barriers, this phenomenon increases challenges in making new friends and also building a social life in an unfamiliar region. In other words, this condition is frequently observed in international students who fly abroad for further studies, as they feel shy and less confident in front of others, they tend to avoid situations that require long conversations with their local peers. For example, it has been shown that foreigners are less likely to make eye contact with locals and are unable to share problems with native people due to poor vocabulary proficiency. As a result, the individual becomes more depressed and anxious about their decision to settle abroad. Furthermore, this dilemma not only creates difficulty in building a social circle but also affects the person's daily. This means that an individual may be unable to ask for an address or directions to unknown places, and students struggle in their college lectures. This situation stimulates frustration. For instance, a friend of mine struggles to explain his college project to the professor. Due to this, misunderstanding, he got fewer marks in his academic practical exams. In conclusion, I am convinced that the language barrier can cause social and practical dilemmas for people living in foreign countries. However, this situation can be tackled by involving in terminology classes and with the help of vocabulary translating mobile applications.