Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outwiegh the disadvantages?

Some professional people advocate that we should let elementary school students start to learn a foreign language. There are some benefits that are more important than drawbacks. On the one hand, people believe that studying a foreign language in primary school can have some advantages. First of all, if students start to learn early, they can easily remember the words, sentences, and structures. In this phase, they have a strong memory ability, so teaching them during this time is an efficient method. Second, students usually acquire enormous knowledge when they are elementary school students because they will not be affected by other academic subjects, such as science or math. Finally, students will not have any pressure to learn a foreign language since they do not have an exam in this subject. Therefore, primary school is the best time to teach students. On the other hand, some supporters believe that learning in secondary school can improve students ' language ability significantly because they are stressed with tests, and they may put a lot of effort into them to perform well. However, I consider that this way may make students lose their passion for learning a language. For example, numerous students in Taiwan used to love to speak different countries' languages when they were kids. After the entrance test of high school decided to consider students ' foreign language skills, most students gave up their interest since they felt stressed. As a result, they stopped speaking and improving it anymore. Hence, I contend that studying in junior high school may affect students ' willingness to learn. In conclusion, primary school is the best time to acquire a foreign language, while secondary school will seriously influence students ' learning interests.