When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

It is true that us human beings are engineered to pass judgment on the people we meet at the first glance, while there are a plethora of evolutionary reasons that this phenomenon exists, it should not be trusted blindly. On one hand, our ancestors had their fair share of encounters with different dangers throughout their lives, and those who were armed with stronger intuition, had the chance to avoid life-threatening situations and survive and eventually procreate. As a result, they pass down the genes that are involved in having a stronger perception when facing anything new. Therefore, we are coded to immediately assess and judge anyone we meet for the first time. It is important to note that this happens on a subconscious level and we will end up having a gut feeling towards this new person, it might be an approval and a sensation of being safe or feeling threatened which might even activate the fight or flight response. On the other hand, while it is important to take our first impression of other people into consideration, we shouldn’t allow it to overshadow our conscious evaluation. After all, we are an intelligent species and acting on an instinctive level is beneath us. Additionally, this primitive system is not flawless and if we rely solely on that, it will fail us in one way or another. Therefore, it is important to be patient and observant when we meet someone new and not to give a verdict before we actually know them. However, I would personally trust my instinct in some circumstances like encountering a stranger,whom I perceive as aggressive, in the middle of the night. In conclusion, I would argue that intuition is rooted in our subconsciousness and is supposed to protect us from innate harm, while we shouldn’t fully disregard this natural defensive mechanism, it better not be our only means of passing judgment on people.