Violence in the media promotes violence in society. To what extent do you agree?

Violent activities in society are promoted by the violence in media. I strongly agree with the statement because young individuals are easily influenced by the content they are exposed to and repeated exposure leads to desensitization of emotions. Young individuals are influenced very easily because their minds are still developing and they often acquire habits by observing. When the media glorifies violent behaviour without serious consequences, the young population may believe such behaviour is acceptable. As a result, children can have an increase in aggression and violent habits. For example, The Columbia High School shooting in 1999 was due to two teenagers getting influenced by media and video games. If children are properly guided and monitored by parents, it helps them to acquire good manners and empathetic behaviour. In addition, repeated exposure to violent content results in people becoming less sensitive to violence. This leads to a decrease in the sense of empathy and sympathy among the population. Over time, this can make them more accepting of the violence in real-life situations. For example, Bihar is a state in India which is prone to gang violence and that is regularly telecasted in media leading to the population getting desensitized to their emotions. Government should try putting a ban on movies and video games, which encourages violent activities and behaviour. In conclusion, violent activities in media and video games promote violence because young individuals are easily influenced by what they see and frequent exposure to such activities results in desensitization of emotions such as empathy and sympathy among the population leading to an increase in violent behaviour.