Some people think building cities is good for progress. Others believe it causes environmental and social problems. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In modern society, development of cities has become increasingly common and some citizens assert it is advantageous. However, others argue that it is negative due to environmental and social issues. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and conclude with why I firmly believe it is beneficial. From my perspective, many advantages can be provided by developing a city. A well-developed city allows people to have a convenient lifestyle. For example, people can access public transportation systems which offer them easy to travel in the city. Furthermore, having a solid infrastructure is also vital for human safety. As it can provide shelters for individuals, particularly when natural disasters such as earthquakes or typhoons happen. Even though it may have impacts on the environment, they can be regulated by serious laws and regulations. Therefore, it can be extremely beneficial when constructing it properly. On the other hand, developing cities can cause some influences on nature. The main influence is that people develop habitats of wildlife which may lead to struggling like extinction or lacking food resources. Moreover, crime rates might increase when individuals gather in the city center because they are prone to approach others. For example, robbers and thieves may stay in the city where they are prone to find a target. To address these issues, some actions can be taken to solve them such as pre-evaluation and social support programs. In conclusion, although development can offer certain drawbacks for both people and the environment, it can be addressed by governmental measures. I support that building cities is essential for societies as it can offer benefits for humans.