Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes believed that juveniles should be taught art as an essential subject at educational institutions, in contrast, there are others who believe that this is a waste of time. I believe art fosters student's creativity and career advancement On the one hand, some people think that schools ought to teach children art as a compulsory course, and I agree because it develops kids' creativity with the help of which they can enhance their imagination skills. It encourages students to express their emotions through their art such as music, paintings, poetry etc. Furthermore, art helps students to choose a career in their area of interest as well as brighten their future; for instance, 99% of renowned singers of the country always mention in their interviews that they have been learning music since their childhood, consequently, they became famous just because of their talent which was sharpened in their schools. On the other hand, many say that having art in schools not only distracts pupils from their studies but also wastes their time at school, they can rather focus on other essential subjects i.e. mathematics, science and information technology. Moreover, the world nowadays has been competitive in terms of getting better job opportunities, hence it is necessary for children to stay focussed, and learn only in-demand courses at educational institutions. To explain, a study conducted at Waterloo University showed that 90% of students whose study grades were lower than A+ struggled for a while to get a job in their field. To conclude, although people may vary in their opinions, however, I believe that art encourages children to be creative and helps them to choose the career they are interested in.