The government should sometimes infringe on people’s freedom for the security of society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that individual freedom is more important than the security of society by the government. However, my view of this issue is that social security and safety is a higher priority than people’s freedom, and next, freedom should be guaranteed as well. To begin with, I firmly believe that the government can sometimes invade people’s freedom to ensure the security of people. The government ’s role is to prevent potential dangers in advance and assure safety and security even if it makes people uncomfortable or inconvenient. For example, the implementation of drug and alcohol tests is needed to remove hazards in the workplace. There is a possibility of violating worker’s freedom, but it plays an important role in making a safe work environment. Nevertheless, as long as ensuring security, individual freedom shouldn’t be interrupted by the government. Every person has the right to speak out their opinions and protest to get what they want. It is the basic right guaranteed in fundamental law. For instance, from the 1970s to 1980s in South Korea, if you argued your opinion, you could be caught by police. It was a very unfair situation in the view of the present, but at the time, there were a lot of overuses of the government ’s power. To sum up, I am of the opinion that people’s freedom can be infringed by the government to prevent dangerous situations and ensure the security and safety of society, in contrast, I partly agree that personal freedom should be guaranteed if the security is not invaded.