Working from home is becoming more common. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, remote working has become mainstream in many countries. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon. From my perspective, working from home offers a wide variety of benefits. Most people are willing to work remotely, because of flexibility and work-life balance. Not all individuals feel comfortable in the office, so remote work can offer flexibility depending on their preferences of location and time. For example, people can choose a suitable place for themselves and manage their own time schedules. Furthermore, work-life balance is an important factor for individuals which can provide them more opportunities to spend time with their family members, especially for people who have kids. Therefore, both values are the benefits that working from home can provide. On the other hand, remote working comes with some disadvantages as well. When employees are working in offices, they can be supervised by a manager or supervisor. Even though some people might feel stressed, it is an effective approach to avoid low productivity. In this way, the low concentration issue may be dealt with by not working remotely. Another disadvantage is lacking social interaction which may mitigate a sense of belonging, due to the fact that individuals can communicate with their coworkers to socialize. However, these problems can be addressed by self-discipline and attending social events. In conclusion, working remotely can provide pros and cons. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because such values cannot be substituted by other measures.