Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions you can suggest

After serving prison sentences, many criminals reoffend. The essay believes that is being caused by ineffectivness of punishments, while a solution can be provided if governments implement adequate policies towards them. One of the main factors which makes criminals commit crimes again is that the punishments they serve are mostly inefficient. All criminals are individuals with different life stories, who had various motives and reasons to commit crimes. Therefore, penalties must vary too in order to be successful. Moreover, it should not be forgotten that the key role of the sentence is to rehabilitate offenders. However, not taking into consideration the importance of an all-round investigation of both crime and criminal can undermine the level of justice and the real purpose of penalties. In other words, punishments must be adequate and personalized; they must not be violent. Imposing harsher punishments affects criminals in a negative way instead of suggested positive. For instance, the recent research of the American Association of Psychologists from april 2025 has highlighted that violence undertaken towards certain psychotype of people may lead to a deterioration of their psychological state and make them more agressive. Clearly, the issue of reoffending can be solved by governments as they hold a real strength. Past criminals often face difficulties after realising; they struggle to integrate back into society. This happens both because of insufficient government support and a biased approach of the community. Governments should help these humans with employment, education and other aspects of life in order to take them to normalcy. The same can be said about members of society; all must join forces to prevent them from feeling isolated, which can result in a commitment of further crimes. For example, in 2021, the Ministry of Justice of Finland helped a mass amount of released criminals to find suitable jobs, consequently the crime rate has decreased by 42% by 2025. To conclude, although a huge number of criminals reoffend, the reason is unsuccessful punishments and the suggested solution is appropriate government policies.