Some people think that the government should put a tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to eat food that is good for people's health. Do you agree or disagree?

People’s opinions differ on the necessity of levying on processed food to keep consumers away from convenience food. While there is logic behind the idea, I still disagree with the mindset. It is true that if governing organs impose a tax on non-organic food, consumers ’ purchase habit could be nudged; a tax will increase the cost of stocking a product for grocery owners, who have to label a higher price tag on the product for retail. In fact, most shoppers are budget conscious. When they notice that a canned meat is more expensive than fresh meat, they may reconsider their choice and opt for the latter instead. In the long run, consumers will surely take in more natural food, unintentionally dropping the intake of salt, sugar and other food additives. As a result, people are less prone to hypertension, diabetes and other illnesses. However, soliciting for extra cost of convenience food from consumers might be judged as intervention of purchase freedom. Another consequence might see processed industry being laid in unfair competition, which will cut salaries even laid staff off, due to diminishing profit. On the other hand, I believe that government could choose other incentives for encouraging the public towards a healthy diet. First, authorized nutrition institutions can collaborate with schools, advocating heathy food to students, who will advise their parents to purchase organic food for the benefit for their body health. Second, legislators shall issue by-laws for fast food producers, who will be asked arbitrarily to list all unhealthy components and potential side effects on the package of products. In this way, a shopper can be well positioned to acknowledge all the cons and pros about a canned meat before they swipe their credit cards. By instilling health conscience habits in a young age and revealing nutrition facts, consumers will be better positioned to opt for natural meals than industrialized food for the sake of body well-being. In conclusion, levying on unhealthy food could be both effective and controversial. I recommend food health education for children and mandatory information exposure by food manufactories for better health for the public.