In some cultures, ambition is thought to be a good quality. Is it important to be ambitious? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

In many parts of the world, ambition is often held in high regard, with individuals having ambitious goals often being praised and celebrated. I do believe that it is important for people to be ambitious, and it is a positive personal trait, when exercised within reasonable boundaries. It has to be acknowledged that having certain ambitions provides people with a sense of direction in life. This can be seen in the way unemployed individuals who contentedly live off of unemployment benefits usually feel lost and end up engaging in unproductive activities such as watching TV all day, gossiping, and committing minor crimes such as vandalism, ultimately causing trouble for themselves, their families and their communities as a whole. However, sociologists, psychologists and psychoanalysts have conclusively found that if such individuals set out certain goals for themselves, they can usually turn their lives around and become productive members of society. This is a testament to the importance of striving to obtain certain achievements or milestones in one's life. I am convinced that ambition is generally a positive characteristic, if employed within sensible limits. Of course, there are cases where some individuals try to achieve impossible goals, leading to mental, physical exhaustion, psychological problems such as anxiety and depression, lower self-esteem and even suicidal thoughts. However, under normal circumstances, ambition is utilized in a responsible manner, it encourages people to strive for greatness and achieve more in life. For example, students who want to top their class tend to be more focused and attain better academic results than their less academically driven peers. Similarly, athletes who wish to break the world's record in their sports have more motivation to practice and compete. Even if they do not succeed in setting a new world's record, their ability usually ends up being far superior than those without such an ambitious aspiration. These are just two among countless other examples showing the positive results that stem from pursuing ambitious goals in life. In conclusion, it is of great importance that people establish certain goals for themselves in life, and being ambitious is predominantly a positive personal quality, especially when exploited properly