The increasing number of people travelling abroad for leisure is contributing to over-tourism in many destinations. Is this a positive or negative development?

Tourism industry is developing rapidly nowadays. Many people tend to travel abroad which leads to over-tourism in different countries. I think that it overall brings a positive impact on the countries ’ economy. There are many positive sides of the development of tourism. The first one is support for the growth of small business. The influx of tourists in different countries especially during certain seasons helps to develop the country’s infrastructure. For instance, some Sochi residents try to open their own business such as food stalls along the beach. Another positive side of tourism is the prosperity of national culture and traditions. Tourists inform other countries or their home countries about interesting traditions that they had experienced during the trip and in that way promote the country. It helps to share valuable experience and save it to the descendants. In conclusion, I believe that despite the over-tourism in many countries, the influx of people from different countries has more positive than negative impact, as it helps to develop the countries ’ economy, and helps to spread the traditions and customs across the world.