Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children’s story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

There is no denying the fact that some people believe that kids are wasting their time when they spend a lot of time reading stories instead of doing other activities. While it is a commonly held belief that allocating most of their time to activities may be more beneficial, there is also an argument that opposes it. In my opinion, I consider that reading is essential for kids in many ways. To begin with, reading books could give children important life lessons. In other words, when kids read the experiences that stories trying to tell, their knowledge for life would extend. In addition, kids learn empathy and values through the characters and situations they read about. For example, “The Tortoise and The Hare” teaches us the lesson that everyone can achieve success when they believe in themselves. Another point to consider, reading boosts imagination significantly in children, helps them develop their ideas. It is possible to say that stories inspire creative thinking by presenting new ideas, allowing children to explore other places and characters through images. Moreover, imagination enhances problem-solving by allowing children to think outside the box. For instance, Pinocchio encourages imagination by showing that whenever Pinocchio lies, his nose grows longer. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that books reading should be a primary activity for kids as it allows them to grow their life knowledge and create new skills through learning from stories. Additionally, reading could help in enhancing the creative thinking, which they need for solving problems and achieving their goals.