Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that keeping public libraries is not necessary as technology performs its function. Personally, I completely disagree and in this essay, I will state the reason for my view. On one hand, those who are in favour of the above point out that households can access any e-books that they desire online. A wide range of websites have been created for PDF books,which readers can purchase once and use forever; thus, it is easier and more cost-effective for consumers. Another potential reason for this is that authorities can spend the money that they are expenditure on libraries on some other more important sectors such as health and education. For example, if governments purchase for deriving new health-related innovations such as treating cancer and diabetes, they can save many lives and increase longevity overall. On the other hand, I strongly believe that maintaining libraries is a crucial key to encouraging people to read more. While a large number of people use technology for watching social media and gaming, they do not tend to spend time on reading, as a result, the average reading may sharply decrease over time. When people visit those places, they are highly likely to read. Secondly, libraries are not used only for reading, many students study there and do their team homework there. In conclusion, however, technology plays a crucial role in reading books online and makes it more straightforward to touch with, in my opinion, remaining public libraries also have their benefits such as persuading people to read.