Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Every individual has their own unique personality. Certain research results reveal that characteristics that we are born with are more likely to influence our personality. Personally, in contrast to the research, personal experiences have a larger effect on your personality. To begin with, personal experiences can help shape a person’s personality. Reaching maturity is one of those, which is what everybody has to experience when they grow older. Being mature means that you are able to ponder about what you learn from your surroundings and mistakes to avoid future flaws. Thus, you are able to adapt and find solutions to problems that you may encounter in your life. This can lead to the development of an individual's mindset and personality. Despite the indication of the research, DNA is passed down only for information and the instinct to survive. It allows you to think about what to do to survive, but it does not help change your perspective. This means that experiences like being in a pressured situation is still more beneficial to an individual’s personality. Additionally, it can also help you when you are faced with a difficult situation like not having enough resources. In these circumstances the lessons and teachings from your life experiences can help you understand what solutions need to be implemented to overcome the obstacles. In conclusion, while characteristics can provide you with the instincts to survive, it does not help you in developing your personality. This shows that personal experiences have a bigger influence on the development of your personality.