A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. Does the advantages outweigh disadvantages

The majority of the countries and cities these days completely depend on profits from the tourism industry. In my view, despite the enhancements in infrastructure and the increase in slots for the job, downsides as instability and environmental damage caused by tourists are far more significant. To begin with, there is an increase in the quality of infrastructure, because the government will focus more on areas as airports, roads, public transport and etc. In order to attract more visitors to specific places and get the income from them, authorities will invest more money in those spheres than in any other. Take Phuket island, for instance, due to the high influx of people in 2016, they expanded the airport, constructed more hotels, improved transportation facilities and more since that year. In most places that rely on tourism, the education sector is usually low, which leads to a lack of employment opportunities.Another benefit that this trend brings is the creation of more job opportunities for locals. By the establishment of aforementioned hotels, the local community will be able to work there, even with possessing any academic qualifications or knowledge. In Phu Quoc, an island in Vietnam, where in 2015 the rates of employment and the average profit were minimal, the building of residential areas and apartments boosted each of the sections by 80 per cent. However, fully counting on the income collected from tourists contributes to the inflexibility of the country’s economy, which is far vital than any advantages. If there is no source of revenue other than the tourism sector, the country may face seasonal problems annually. As the flow of visitors ranges from month to month, the area may experience hard times during periods when there are few people flying to that region. In 2021, for example, almost all countries mostly dependent on tourism have encountered economic crisis as routes were closed due to the virus. Also, it is hard to control the movements of visitors and the harm that they cause to the visiting place. Usually, Individuals travelling to other parts of the world try to investigate that place, so they usually overlook the issues they cause to the environment. For instance, for the sake of investigating the area around, they cause pollution and overuse of water. To illustrate, Venice has struggled with overcrowding and environmental stress due to heavy tourism. In conclusion, of course, this trend brings huge upgrades in infrastructure and rises opportunities for locals to get a job, but the downsides as inflexible economic and damage brought by tourist, are far greater.