According to some people, death penalty must be used as a punishment for people who committed serious crimes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of capital punishment?

Some people think that capital punishment is a proper retribution for serious-crime inmates. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this punishment. Let's begin by looking at the advantages, one main benefit of the death penalty is its deterrent effect for the society, preventing a rising number of criminals. What I mean by this is that the government can spread awareness among people about the severe consequences they could get, if they commit such crimes. For example, the China government passed a law which said that corruptors would get capital punishment as their resposibility of againsting the country. In addition, another benefit is that governments can increase their country's image. This means that they try to set strict rules that other countries might not be able to implement. For example, the USA amend a law such that the death penalty will be given to terrorists. It proves that the USA tries to highlight taht this crime is a crucial thing, making other countries admit that the USA is a powerful country. Despite the advantages, this punishment can also be a double-edged sword for a country due to its relation to human rights. Everyone has a right to live, even if they have committed enormous sin. This against the principle of retribution, "an eye for an eye," meaning that a cruel action should receive the same revenge. However, this is harmful for detainees who commit a manslaughter case for example. They might try to defend themselves but ended up killing someone, which is not justified for them to have this punishment. The second drawback is that it could become a rule with less value. What I am trying to say is that people who have the same desire to commit serious crimes would consider this regulation a stepping stone. In terrorism cases for example, these offenders are ready to be killed and believe that it is one of their ways to go to heaven. This means the punishment would mean nothing to this group, making them even more wilder than before. In conclusion, despite the fact that capital punishment has several advantages and disadvantages, I personally believe that serious crimes, such as terrorism and corruption, should be addressed in a more gentle way by the government. Giving full consideration before giving a verdict for these lawbreakers might be a better decision than directly giving them the death penalty.