Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In other people ’s perspective, modernization has created a binding force that attaches most people. However, others view it as a force that separated many individuals. In today’s era of digital technology, an innovation, such as a smartphone, has created a rift among individuals, particularly most families, that seemed to be bounded by space but was miles apart in consciousness. For example, the prominent tradition in Filipino culture of sharing meals together and talking about the events that transpired that day was slowly vanishing as most families were now more enthusiastic in eating meals while using their mobile phones. Apart from this, a significant number of people prefer to use their mobile phones for gaming which results in meeting new online friends. Furthermore, this may create more divisions among families as these gamers will prefer to confide and interact with these online friends than actual people. Conversely, the innovation of modern technology in the past few decades has been a force connecting people together by video calls. For example, overseas Filipino workers often suffer from depression and homesickness, but until recently, these mental health issues were slowly being resolved by receiving audio calls or video calls from their loved ones in the Philippines. In line with this, people that utilizes online social media platforms, like facebook, usually finds people that they usually relate to in terms of experienced health problems. To elaborate, cancer patients or stroke survivors may interact in Facebook groups created for them in which they are able to find solace and alleviate the heaviness that their illness has brought in their lives thereby improving their mental health status in the process. In conclusion, I believe that technology became an instrument that connected people together even if they are miles apart. In addition, this technological advancement has shown to positively affect the mental wellness of most people.