Some people believe that nurses should not have to pay for their nursing degrees. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that student nurses should be exempt from the normal tuition fees that universities charge. I completely agree with this view, for the reasons described below. Nurses provide a vital service and they are among the most important workers in any society. In hospitals, nurses carry out a huge range of procedures and tasks, such as taking blood samples, running diagnostic tests, administering drugs, liaising with patients’ families, and providing general care and comfort to people who are ill. Every member of society will require one or more of these services at some point in their lives. Moreover, without nursing staff, hospitals would cease to function, healthcare systems would collapse, and people would die unnecessarily. I would argue, therefore, that the nursing profession is indispensable, and that exempting nurses from course fees is a good way to recognise their value. Unfortunately, nurses are also relatively poorly paid, and an exemption from course fees might help to attract more people to this vocation. In the UK, an average nurse earns around half of what a typical doctor receives. This seems unfair when we consider the long hours that nursing staff work, as well as the stressful nature of their jobs. Many would-be nurses may choose other professions rather than incur large student debts that will be difficult to repay. Free training would at least remove this obstacle and make a career in nursing more desirable. In conclusion, I believe that free tuition is a good way to show the value that we place on nurses, and to incentivise more people to enter the nursing profession.