Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people?

Many museums and historical sites are usually visited by tourists but not local people what can we do to attract the locals. First, in my opinion, I think that museums and historcal sites companies want to attract the tourists more than the local people, because many resones, for example the travelrs peid money more than locals, although the locals will come to this places less than tourists, the locals are already know abut thier history, they are born in the same country so they grow up in their history and culter. So, I think the mein resone that the locals do not go to the museums and historical sites, is this palces are booring to thoes who know the culter already, so I believe there is only one way to solve this problem, although it is semple but people do not do it, that make this places more funny and happy and do alot of new activtes that you can try and do, about their country culter and I believe that the locals will go to this places more than the tourists and people will come not only to know about their culter they will go bacause the things you can do in the museums and historical sites for example put a short Interactive movie about the country history pepole prefer this things more than only typing the informetions in the wall. Overall the museums and historical sites are must foucs on attract local people and tourists by doing new crative things about the museums and historical sites because in my opinion it is the most important part of the country.