In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many states, young people prefer to enrol in work-based training over pursuing a degree. I think that the drawbacks such as deficiency of knowledge and low level of competence outweigh the advantages. One of the prime advantages is that individuals do not spend years studying to earn a degree and do not have to wait for an accomplishment of a degree in order to start working. Their knowledge and capabilities are mainly based on practice which they obtain in a short period of time, hence they reach employment opportunities earlier in comparison with university students. For example, in Baku, there are some nursing courses with the duration of 6 months after finishing which successfull students are offered a jobs in local healthcare organizations. However, the main disadvantage is the limited occupational awareness of such individuals. Obtaining a degree lasts for many years depending on specialization, but it mainly fluctuates between 4 to 6 years in developed countries. During that period, students gain well-based education and experience holistic development, which cannot be referred to work-based trainings as they offer limited prospects. As a result, a big gap between the proficiency of these 2 groups of individuals arises, obviously, those with degrees have a more prioritized position. For instance, an HR of Baku Medical Plaza Hospital posted in her LinkedIn profile that they do not hire specialists with no relevant degree. In addition, work-based trainings are not able to boost the capability of their students due to being short-lasting; they do not have adequate levels of skills and competence. In other words, these young individuals struggle to maintain a high level of competency at work; their performance is mainly low, which leads to employers' unsatisfaction and declining job security. For example, an insufficient level of accountant's professional skills can have a detrimental on company's profits. To conclude, although the trend of choosing work-based training instead of studying at university is now widely spread, I think that demerits like the inappropriate level of education and competence outweigh the advantages