Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that students can excel in their academic careers if they are rewarded for their efforts rather than punished for their failures. I firmly believe that a reward system is an ideal approach to facilitate an effective learning environment. This essay will discuss both points of view. The first point of view suggests that students should be appreciated for their performance. Numerous studies suggest that individuals perform efficiently when provided with positive feedback, as they often feel valued for their efforts and hard work. For example, when students are praised for a well-researched assignment by their teachers, they are often motivated to work harder and perform even better next time. Rewarding students could potentially encourage them to strive for improvement, ultimately helping them to perform exceptionally well in school. The second point of view suggests that punishing students for their poor performance could positively impact their academic careers. However, this approach can instil fear among students rather than motivate them to perform better. For instance, if a student fails a test and is punished by their teacher, they might work only to pass the next test to avoid punishment, rather than focusing on excelling. Therefore, rather than motivating students, punishment could cultivate fear among them. In conclusion, by cultivating a reward system, teachers could establish an educational setting where students are motivated to perform better. However, if they are inclined towards punishment, they would cultivate a fear-based environment where students focus on dodging punishment rather than improving their performance.