Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this technological era, children seem addicted to their smartphones, which interfere with their daily routines. In my opinion, this causes detrimental effects on children for several reasons. Firstly, the excessive use of smartphones can cause health problems, such as obesity and short-sightedness. In many urban cities, parents provide their children with the latest gadgets, leading to a more sedentary lifestyle and less outdoor activity. This is because children feel comfortable using their gadgets to do all of their activities, such as ordering food and watching movies. As a result, they will gain weight because they refuse to engage in outdoor activities. Furthermore, a high amount of excessive screen time can damage their eyes, resulting in eye strain. For example, it has become prevalent that children in elementary schools already wear glasses. Although parents have provided cutting-edge smartphones, failing to limit their screen time will result in severe consequences for their health. Secondly, addiction to smartphones can affect their personal development. Many children refuse to go outside and socialize with others. If this situation continues, they will become introverted people, damaging their communication skills. It is important for children to interact with friends of their own age because they need to learn how to build good communication and strengthen the bonds with their friends. This is because one of the indicators that people succeed in their careers is having good communication skills; thus, these skills have to be taught to children at a young age. In conclusion, overreliance on smartphones can bring negative impacts to children, including health and personal growth. By monitoring children's daily routines, parents can alleviate the consequences, and children will have a better future.