People can eat a wide variety of food of other regions. As a result they are eating a lot of foreign food instead of locally produced food. Do you think the advantages of eating foreign food are more than its harms?

Because of globalization, individuals are now able to enjoy several different types of food from many nations. Some argue that, with this trend, people are eating more food from overseas than from their local regions. Although this way of eating gives a few benefits, the negative effects outweigh the positives. It is undeniable that globalization gives not only global consumers a chance to enjoy a variety of cuisines from many different cultures in a more convenient way, but also producers all over the world more business opportunities. People nowadays can easily order special food grown in remote areas and receive it after a while, something that was impossible a few decades ago. For example, it is now easy for people in Europe to eat traditional dishes or fruits such as mangoes or durians from Asian countries. Moreover, this trend also benefits farmers or producers from some countries by giving them more orders and thus contributing to their economic development. However, eating more imported food also brings several drawbacks. Firstly, consuming so much food from other countries may be harmful to people's health. It is because suppliers need to add a lot of chemicals or preservatives to protect their products from being spoiled, which may lead to diseases if these chemicals are stored in such large quantities inside the body. Moreover, long-distance transportation also harms the environment by using a huge volume of fuel and emitting emissions. Research shows that long-distance transportation is one of the top causes of negative effects on the Earth. Finally, consuming so much food from other areas might destroy local businesses. In conclusion, despite some advantages such as making special food available or giving commercial opportunities to some people, I believe that this trend has more drawbacks because it is harmful to people's health as well as to nature.